http://www.scoutscopes.comhttp://www.mojosights.comhttp://smith-sights.com

It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 7:39 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:25 am 
Mil-Surp Shooter
Mil-Surp Shooter

Hello!

I'm new to this board and to internet forums in general. I've been a student of WWI history since I was nine (thanks to the Young Indiana Jones series), so it seemed natural to begin collecting the rifles of that era. I have a Lee-Enfield SMLE and just purchased a Mle. 1916 Berthier infantry rifle. I wanted to ask a quick question about the serial numbers:

While shopping around for one of these, I couldn't find any with matching serial numbers. The one I finally purchased is in amazing shape. The stock has no cracks and only minor dings and scratches. About 95% of the blueing is still intact. The bore is bright and shiny with perfect rifling. However, the serial numbers do not match.

Based on the reading I've done so far, this seems to be common with this rifle. I read that the French, needing to keep their troops armed in the face of staggering losses at Verdun and around the Western Front, would cannibalize parts from battlefield-recovered weapons and use them to make new weapons or re-equip damaged ones.

My rifle is also interesting in that it does not have the Balle N proofing. I paid $575 for it.

Did I make the wrong choice? Was I ripped off? Other than the numbers, the rifle is in fantastic shape (the French know how to make a good, sturdy rifle, contrary to popular opinion in the U.S.), and the lack of Balle N proofing is rare....

Does anyone have any wisdom on this topic for me? I'd love to learn whatever you all know!

P.S: THANK YOU for being a pro-French space! I am a big time Francophile and French minor. It's good to find other people who respect the courage and honor of the French military!

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:56 pm 
Mil-Surp Psychosis
Mil-Surp Psychosis