http://www.scoutscopes.comhttp://www.mojosights.comhttp://smith-sights.com

It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:45 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2010 9:23 am 
Mil-Surp Owner
Mil-Surp Owner

Hi,

Does anyone have a copy of owner's manual/instructions for Redfield International sight?

Thanks, R B Rosier

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:11 pm 
Benefactor
Benefactor

I don't have one, but what do you want to know?

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:21 pm 
Mil-Surp Owner
Mil-Surp Owner

I'd like to see a labeled diagram to learn the nomenclature and the step by step explanation of how to set up and use the sight. What M.O.A. does each click equal? Come to think of it, I need the same sort of information for the Olympic globe front sight e.g. how to select the appropriate insert. I'm new to using precision aperture sights if you couldn't already tell. Thanks for any help.

R B Rosier

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:48 pm 
Benefactor
Benefactor

First; almost all the Olympic, and International sights were set up for quarter minute clicks. This factor though is based on a sight separation of 36". If your sights are closer, like 30", your click changes will be more like .300 per click at 100 yds rather than .250. (Inverse correllation)They did make a MK8 sight that had a finer knob rotation of 24 clicks per full revolution.
The graduations on the side will move one line per so many revolutions. (Without looking I can't recall)Each full revolution (12 clicks) moves basically 3 MOA. Thus moving 5 full revolitions (60 clicks) moves 15 MOA. Thats to give you an ability for reading the sight setting plus noting the knob numbers.