http://www.scoutscopes.comhttp://www.mojosights.comhttp://smith-sights.com

It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:33 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 11:02 pm 
Mil-Surp Museum Curator
Mil-Surp Museum Curator

Hello all, let me just start out by saying that although Im not new to the forum, I am new to the M1 Garand! With that said my question is this:

I just recently, and when I say recently I mean I mailed my payment in for it today, purchased a Springfield Armory M1 Garand in the 5.4 mil serial number range on auction. The vast majority of the parts are SA, with a couple of other parts in there, not real concerned about all SA parts, and it has the original 10-54 barrel on it.

The auction stated that it had a muzzle wear of 2, and throat erosion of 5. Now again Im new to the M1's, been lusting after one and saving for one ever since I started collecting! =P~ Are these numbers acceptable? What is the difference between muzzle wear and throat erosion? Is it still safe to shoot? I felt that it was, and figured if the barrel was shot out a replacement shouldnt be to hard or expensive to find. I only paid 650 for it, so I think I got a good deal, or did I?

Again my question is about the muzzle wear and throat erosion. Can someone explain the meaning of those to me? As usual thanks in advance for any and all replies!

Cant wait to get it in my grubby little hands! This is kind of the pinnacle of my collection(can you tell Im excited, so please no bad news :( J/K)! Thanks again!

"Some people say I have A.D.D., Oh look a squirrel!"

"There's battle lines being drawn, nobodys right if everybodys wrong"
Buffalo Springfield

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:15 am 
Benefactor
Benefactor

Muzzle wear is the amount of wear the inside of the muzzle has seen. 2 is just fine for that.