http://www.scoutscopes.comhttp://www.mojosights.comhttp://smith-sights.com

It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 2:54 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: VZ24 Stock Help
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 1:16 am 
Mil-Surp Owner
Mil-Surp Owner

Greetings! I am fairly new to surplus firearm collecting and while I have a little knowledge in wood work, I know little about gun stocks. I recently purchased a 1938 Czech VZ24 and I have a few questions.

First off, I really don't know what kind of finish is currently on the stock. I attached pictures to possibly help anyone identify the finish.

Secondly, after determining what finish is currently on the stock, what should I do to it to achieve a period correct finish?

Thanks for any input
- Pat

Attachments:
image (1).jpg
image (1).jpg [ 25.82 KiB | Viewed 962 times ]
image.jpg
image.jpg [ 32.25 KiB | Viewed 962 times ]

Post subject: Re: VZ24 Stock Help
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 4:05 am 
Benefactor
Benefactor

:D Welcome to the forum, I hope this helps. By the way, A great looking stock with patina.

I can not tell from the photo your finish. The photos do not enlarge. However, it appears you have a nice worn patina on that Vz 24. I think those just had a BLO finish that ages with other oils used to wipe down a stock ( motor oil) and years of handling and cleaning solutions. To be sure I need a close up, but here is an old post with one of mine that has an original finish from years of oil and dirt wiped onto and into the wood. In the heat it seeps cosmo oil. Yours looks like the original finish unless it one of the later rebuilt Aim sold Vz 24s with a new missmatched handguard and receiver lacking a crest.
This one is a harder to find Chinese marked VZ 24. See close ups of wood finish.
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=94787&hilit=+chinese+vz+24

see this old post on cleaning and some nice close ups from Candyman.
viewtopic.php?f=83&t=112925&hilit=+refinish+vz+24